BOOK NOW
HISTORY OF THE SAGEBRUSH INN
Iconic Southwest Roots

Celebrating 85 Years of Hospitality!

In 1931 the Sagebrush Inn & Suites was built and first operated by Frank and Helen Kentnor who opened the hotel under the name El Chamiso Lodge. By 1933 the Kentnors changed the name to the Sagebrush Inn (Sagebrush being the English translation of Chamiso) as it was more recognizable to early guest who were typically making the journey from the East Coast to Arizona and back. This adobe walled charming wayside hotel offered 12 guestrooms that quickly became known for authentic Southwest décor and warm hospitality – just as it is today.

Shortly after the hotel opened, the Kentnors added a dining room to the hotel at the request of their guests who didn’t want to make the several mile journey to Taos Plaza for meals. In those early years, the hotel wasn’t able to offer a bar due to Prohibition, but guests delighted in playing cards in the evenings and appreciated the jigsaw puzzles the Kentnors kept fireside for entertainment. Later in life the Sagebrush would be home to an illegal gambling room until getting raided in 1950.

Over the years the Sagebrush Inn & Suites has grown to include 156 guestrooms and suites, over 13,000 square feet of meeting and event space, and has developed a reputation for authentic Southwest cuisine as well as live music at Sagebrush Cantina. While it has been restored and expanded over the years, the Inn remains a historic icon within the Taos community, serving visitors and Taoseño alike. Most recently the hotel was purchased in 2014 and is undergoing a painstaking improvement plan to restore the Sagebrush Inn to all its glory after years of neglect by previous ownership.

Historical Highlights:


From easy access to Taos Plaza, Taos Ski Valley and Taos Pueblo to the Inn's onsite bocce ball court, hot tubs and pool, there's no shortage of activities and amenities available.